Posts tagged with 'collections'
7 March 2014 by Kay
The first is this painting of Margaret Beavan – Liverpool’s First Woman Lord Mayor and Children’s Champion. It was painted by John Archibald Alexander Berrie, and shows Margaret at a dinner at the Lyceum Club, Bold Street, 19 December 1927, held in her honour. A footman can be seen in the background and Liverpool worthies and their wives sit either side of her. Significantly, this was the first occasion on which ladies were entertained within the gentleman’s club. Read more…
3 March 2014 by Louise
International Women’s Day has been recognised since the early 1900s and is now officially takes place on 8 March every year. The day celebrates the social, political and economic achievements that women have made and also highlights the areas that need attention. Read more…
27 February 2014 by Sam Rowe
Here is a post from one of our volunteers on the Rainford’s Roots community archaeology project. Emily spent time with the archaeology team archiving over 8,000 clay pipes; here she explains the stages of recording: Read more…
6 February 2014 by Felicity
World Museum’s astounding collections are incredibly vast and varied. So much so, that we’re still exploring and learning more about many of them! This is definitely true of our paper-based Asia collections, as Emma Martin, Head of Ethnology and Curator of Asia Collections, explains: Read more…
Visitors to the Museum of Liverpool can explore the story of the Liverpool Irish community on display across the Museum, using our new trail.
The trail highlights unique and fascinating objects, people and stories.
Discover our earliest links across the Irish Sea over 4000 years ago and explore how Irish people, culture and traditions continue to shape the social, political and economic history of the city.
Pick up your free trail from the information desk in the atrium.
We recently installed a very special object in the Wondrous Place gallery at the Museum of Liverpool, to commemorate a Liverpool basement venue which had a legendary impact on the Merseyside music scene.
Opposite the site of the original Cavern Club, the music club Eric’s was also situated in Mathew Street. Opened in 1976 by Roger Eagle and Ken Testi – later joined by Pete Fulwell – Eric’s was only in existence for four years but the influence of the club and Roger Eagle, was massive.
Although Eric’s was known nationally as a ‘punk club’, Roger promoted and supported all kinds of music, as well as performance art and poetry. Ken Testi rightly described Eric’s as ‘a platform for popular culture’ in the 2009 book ‘Liverpool Eric’s – all the best clubs are downstairs, everybody knows that…’. Read more…
18 December 2013 by Lisa
The collections at the Walker Art Gallery are so vast and varied, it’s very difficult to pick out favourite items or paintings. But we’ve given it a go, so that we could bring to light some of the quirkier items from the collections on Pinterest.
We’ve been getting inspired by the winter/festive season and have put together two new Walker Art Gallery Pinterest boards filled with our collections, for you to browse. Hopefully you’ll get inspired by them as well! Read more…
17 December 2013 by Kay
In 2007, Craig, a Lance Corporal with the Duke of Lancaster’s Regiment, led his men during a rooftop battle with insurgents in Basra. The 21 year-old was blinded by an exploding rocket-propelled grenade. After many months in hospital he recovered from his injuries but did not regain his sight. Read more…
16 December 2013 by Zachary
Nelson ‘Madiba’ Mandela, freedom fighter and former President of South Africa, was returned to his ancestral home of Qunu yesterday for a burial ceremony that was broadcast all over the world.
When Nelson Mandela appeared for sentencing in the South African Supreme Court on charges of treason in 1962, he wore a traditional Xhosa beaded costume as an expression of contempt and resistance against the illegitimate proceedings against him. This was captured in a famous picture by Eli Weinberg.
2 December 2013 by Kay
Caroline France (or Carol, as she liked to be known), was born in 1905 in Edge Hill; the eldest of 13 children. From the age of 13 she attended the School for the Blind Children’s Branch in Wavertree.
Aged 16, she went to the Hardman Street School, where she taught machine knitting, basket making and chair caning until 1957.
Carol dressed stylishly, enjoyed holidays and outings with her many friends, sang with church choirs and choral societies, and most of all loved her dogs. Read more…